Broughton and Bretton Community Council

Broughton and Bretton Community Council was formed in 1985 following re-organisation of the former Parish Councils.

The Community Council comprises two electoral wards i.e. South and North East. There are fourteen Councillors representing the interests of approximately 5,000 residents. At the head of the Council is the Chairman, who is elected annually from among the serving Councillors.

The Community Council employs full and part-time staff on a partnership basis . The majority of the staff work jointly for Hawarden Community Council and Shotton Town Council, providing an administrative and maintenance service to those Authorities also. Shotton Town Council has its own Clerk & Financial Officer.

The Community Council's Offices are located at 113 The Highway, Hawarden (see 'contact us') but holds its meetings in the Council Chamber at Broughton Community Centre. Members of the public are welcome to attend all meetings of the Council and its Committees. The meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 7pm excluding August and December when the Council is in recess.




Members of Broughton and Bretton Community Council accompanied
by Steve Thomas, Government Affairs Executive and Phil McGraa,
Community Manager who were invited to take a tour of the A350
Assembly Plant in Broughton.